A Failed Blogging Experiment

Posted: October 16, 2015 in Science Fiction
Tags:

A few months ago, I decided that this blog was too scattered, that I was covering far too many topics, and that that was impeding traffic growth. The core categories here have always been humor, politics, and religion, so I spun off the other two largest post categories, music and science fiction, into separate blogs. That turned out to be a mistake. I was hoping that having Sharp and Pointed more focused on the three core categories would generate more interest and traffic. It didn’t.

The spinoff blogs didn’t do what I had hoped, either. While the archived music and sci-fi posts on this blog continued to generate quite a bit of traffic, the new sci-fi and music blogs, with both the old posts and new content, never gained any traction. They generated few hits and few subscribers. Why? I’ve thought about this, and have concluded that there were two reasons.

The first was that I wasn’t posting often enough, no more than three or four times a month on either of them. It seems to be true that the more you blog, the more traffic you’ll generate.

The second reason was that there are links up all over the place to some of the sci-fi and music posts on this blog, and once people read them they weren’t going on to the new blogs, even though there were links on all sci-fi and music posts to the new blogs and notices that all new sci-fi and music content was on them. I experimented by taking down the content on the linked posts here, and redirecting people to the full posts on the new blogs. They still didn’t go.

At that point, I gave up.

The takeaways from all this seem to be that the most important thing to do to build traffic to your blog is to post frequently. For the first nearly two years this blog was up, I was posting at least daily, and traffic was steadily climbing–not as fast as I would have liked, but steadily.

While I was busy with the new blogs, and posting on both of them occasionally, posting frequency dipped on this blog. Traffic did, too, while traffic on the new blogs came nowhere near to making up for the drop here. During that time, I was very ill for a couple of months and posting here declined quite a bit; the posts on the new blogs aggravated this problem. Regardless of the reasons, decreased posting equated to decreased traffic.

Dalek ascending into heaven as adoring worshippers look on in awe

So, after a lot of wasted time and effort, I exterminated the sci-fi and music blogs, and I’m back to where I began: with a single blog, this one. Welcome to Sharp and Pointed, where you’ll find daily posts on everything under the sun, including science fiction and music.

 

 

Leave a Reply

